

## **MINUTES**

## **Tuesday, Aug. 1, 2023**

At 8:00 a.m., ladies of the Lutheran Women's Missionary Society presented the flags of all the countries in which WELS or churches in fellowship with WELS conduct mission work. The ladies were thanked for their presentation.

At 8:24 a.m., President Mark Schroeder called the convention to order. The opening devotion was led by Rev. Aaron Boehm based on Revelation 5:6-14. The hymn "When Will I Walk" was sung. Boehm was thanked for the devotion.

Rev. Mark Luetzow, Michigan Lutheran Seminary president, welcomed the delegates. He was thanked for his presentation.

President Schroeder announced that minutes would not be read but will be posted at welsconvention.net

Rev. Scott Schwertfeger, chairman of Floor Committee #19: Elections, presented the nominating ballot for synod president. He read the bylaw description of the president's responsibility. After prayer, paper ballots were cast since the Internet was down. After the ballots were collected, the election was declared closed.

President Mark Schroeder read a letter of greeting from Rev. Michael Herbst, president of the *Evangelisch-Lutherische Freikirche*. Introduced were Rev. Tonny Quintero, *Iglesia Cristo WELS Internacional*, and Rev. Glenn Obenberger, president, Evangelical Lutheran Synod. Attendance by Rev. Michael Wilke, president, Church of the Lutheran Confession, is expected later today.

Mr. Kyle Egan, WELS chief financial officer, was introduced. He presented a summary of the synod's current financial status. He was thanked for his report.

Rev. Scott Schwertfeger, chairman of Floor Committee #19: Elections, presented the ballot for the position of synod president. Since the Internet was working, votes were cast electronically. On the ballot are the names of Rev. Jonathan Hein, Rev. James Huebner, Rev. Mark Schroeder, Rev. Earle Treptow, and Rev. Charles Westra. After the votes were cast, the election was declared closed.

Rev. Michael Wilke, president of the Church of the Lutheran Confession, was introduced.

First Vice President James Huebner took the chair. President Schroeder presented his printed report. He was thanked for his report.

Rev. Scott Schwertfeger, chairman of Floor Committee #19: Elections, after prayer, presented the results of the election for synod president. Rev. Mark Schroeder was re-elected. It was moved and supported to make the ballot unanimous. The motion carried.

Schwertfeger read the bylaw description of the duties of the second vice president. The nominating ballot was cast for that position and after all votes were cast, the ballot was declared closed.

South Central District President Donald Patterson presented several materials available at the Northwestern Publishing House display at the convention.

Re-elected President Schroeder shared thoughts on his ministry work and humbly accepted the convention's call to serve another four-year term as president.

At 10:00 a.m. a 20-minute break was declared. The morning session resumed at 10:25 a.m.

Chairman Schwertfeger announced the top three candidates for second vice president. Rev. James Huebner, Rev. Snowden Sims, and Rev. Joel Voss were nominated. After the electronic votes were cast, the election was declared closed.

Mr. Kyle Egan, WELS chief financial officer, returned to the podium. He presented the process to develop the synod's ministry financial plan and the proposed plan itself for Fiscal Years 2024 and 2025. After answering one question, he was thanked for his report.

Rev. Scott Schwertfeger, chairman of Floor Committee #19: Elections, presented the results of the election of the second vice president, Joel Voss.

Rev. Glenn Obenberger presented fraternal greetings to WELS from the Evangelical Lutheran Synod. He was thanked for his report.

Rev. Greg Lyon, campus pastor of Wisconsin Lutheran College, presented a report from the college. The presentation included a brief video that included greetings from WLC President Daniel Johnson. After providing additional information, Lyon was thanked for his presentation.

Rev. Joel Voss announced his acceptance of the call to serve as second vice president.

Prof. Joel Otto, chairman of the synod's 175th Anniversary Committee, presented a report regarding the plans for the anniversary. He shared several historical highlights using historic photographs. The theme of the anniversary is "Christ through us." Books and videos are to be produced as well as worship resources and various articles in synod publications. Membership in WELS Historical Institute was encouraged. He was thanked for his report.

Rev. Scott Schwertfeger, chairman of Floor Committee #19: Elections, returned to the podium for the election of 17 synod positions.

After votes were cast and after several announcements, the morning session adjourned for lunch.

The afternoon session was called to order at 1:15 p.m. with a devotion led by Rev. Paul Horn. The devotion was based on Revelation 7:9-17 and the hymn "Behold a Host, Arrayed in White" was sung. Horn was thanked for leading the devotion.

Rev. Philip Hirsch, Nebraska District president, presented the doctrinal essay, "Embrace the Cross—Anticipate the Crown." Questions and discussion followed. The essayist was thanked for his presentation.

At 3:42 p.m., a break was declared. The afternoon session resumed at 4:03 p.m.

Rev. Jonathan Hein, Commission on Congregational Counseling director, used a PowerPoint to present a statistical summary and analysis. Questions and discussion followed. Hein was thanked for his presentation.

At 5 p.m., President Schroeder closed the afternoon session with prayer.

After the evening meal, World Missions presentations were made by Missionary Matthew Behmer, Missionary Luke Wolfgramm, and Missionary Gary Marquardt.

Respectfully submitted,

Rev. Robert W. Pasbrig,

WELS recording secretary